top of page

Developing the North American permanent magnet supply chain for energy technologies:
Industry and government perspectives

This panel discussion will focus on both government and industry efforts to develop a robust North American supply chain of permanent magnets to support the energy sector industrial base (ESIB). Rare earth magnets, such as sintered neodymium-iron-boron (NdFeB) magnets, are especially important to the ESIB as they are critical components of traction motors in electric vehicles and direct drive generators in offshore wind turbines. Yet, nearly all supply chain stages of sintered NeFeB magnets are concentrated in China, posing a potential vulnerability for ESIB supply chains required to meet climate goals.

Featuring key industry players and decision makers from the U.S. government charged with enhancing the resilience of domestic energy supply chains, the discussion will cover:

  • Challenges associated with bringing the sintered NdFeB industry to the United States;

  • Government and industry strategies to secure critical materials and enhance competitiveness

  • How government and industry players work together to develop a domestic permanent magnet supply chain to support energy technologies

  • The various roles the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) plays in this regard;

  • How efforts within the United States compare with efforts in other countries

  • Technology transfer and commercialization activities; and

  • How recent legislative actions such as the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law and Inflation Reduction Act have affected industry and DOE plans and strategies going forward.

Moderator: Braeton J. Smith, Argonne National Laboratory


Helena Khazdozian, Advanced Manufacturing & Materials Technology Office, U.S. Department of Energy

Salim Bhabhrawala, Critical Materials Program Manager, Office of Manufacturing & Energy Supply Chains, U.S. Department of Energy

Alan Lund, MP Materials

Frank Johnson, Chief Technology Officer, Niron Magnetics


Helena Khazdozian

US Department of Energy

Sr. Technology Manager

Dr. Francis Johnson

Niron Magnetics


Alan Lund

MP Materials


Braeton Smith

Argonne National Lab


bottom of page